Responses · The Basics

A Letter to My Friends on Election Day

fireworks-2Dear you,

I am so grateful to be friends with you.

It’s Election Day. Some of you have voted for one candidate; some for another; some even still for another; and some of you haven’t voted at all. A lot of you have negative opinions of each other because of these differences. But I still love all of you. Honestly, one of the reasons why is because we’re so different.

It’s easy to dehumanize someone’s worldview and to see it as evil when you don’t know and love anyone with that worldview. In the past I have been prolific in dehumanizing others, belittling them and what they think simply because they were hard for me to understand. Since then, I have learned that seeking to understand is far more moral and loving than policing others to fit the mold I fit into… to fit my image.

We are all already made in a perfect image.

It has been a long road for me so far in realizing the depth of that truth.

Because each of you, my friends, has such a different worldview from the others, I have witnessed anger, hatred, and, more than anything– fear. These things are aimed at my friends… by my friends. One group cannot imagine any decent human being believing a certain way– and I can think of many lovely human beings in my life who do. Another group sees only ignorance and self-centeredness in those who believe a certain way– and I can point to intelligent, humble, kind friends of mine who host those very beliefs.

To me, political parties, religions, belief systems, races, sexualities… they aren’t institutions, or groups, or concepts anymore.

They’re faces I’ve looked into.

They’re souls I’ve come to know, and whom I have seen carry the same seal in their hearts as the one in mine… the one that declares I was made in love and am sustained in love by my Maker. My Maker formed every bit of me, called me “altogether beautiful.” And He did the same when He made every single one of you.

Our pieces are different. But they come from the same place.

We are all love children.

Because your pieces are different from mine, our friendship becomes that much more crucial. You see things I don’t; you have passions I don’t share; you have a different context than the one I come from. This means you understand things I don’t yet– things I may never be able to understand, if you don’t share them with me and I don’t listen to you. In order to grow in wisdom and compassion, I need you. And you need me and all of my other friends for the exact same reasons.

The things we let divide us are actually points for us to connect. What one of us lacks, another possesses and can share. We are wholly beautiful on our own, but what great measures of beauty are displayed when we stand side by side, a mosaic of what love looks like.

Today is a day so many of us have feared. No matter what happens in the election, I am going to witness friends celebrating, friends mourning, and friends sifting through armfuls of questions. And I have decided that the best thing for me to do is to enter into those places with each one of you, the best I can. Because we belong to a kingdom and a family much more than we belong to anything else. We belong to one another.

And because, to me, you aren’t an institution, a group, or a concept–

You’re a soul. Made of the same stuff as me.

You’re my friend. My family.

I pray for peace and an open, loving heart in you, in me, and in all we cross paths with. I love you, and I’ll talk to you again soon.

Your friend,

Tessa

[Listen to “Wild World” by Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors]

Any thoughts?

