Soul Food {October 2016}

Standard

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

Yeah, it might be cheesy to quote Anne Shirley in autumn, but October is my favorite month and I am basically Anne so I’m doing it anyway. You can easily forgive me, right? Because I’m sharing some of the media I took in this month!

Musicalbum-artwork

  • “This Town” by Niall Horan. Sweet acoustic heartache. I also like this version by Kurt Hugo Schneider, Kirsten Collins, and Mario Jose.
  •  “I Will Follow You” by Toulouse. I heard a short clip of this song, then went on a wild search to find the full thing. When I finally did, I sat inside it and just felt. It completely sweeps me away and brings me to the most beautiful place. Simple but stunning.
  • “All I Need Is You” by Hollyn. I love hearing female voices nail hip hop.
  • Switchfoot’s “Vice Verses” album. This album is huge for me. I listened to it while baking, and laughed and cried and was challenged throughout. I can’t possibly pick favorites from it because they all matter so deeply to me, but the ones that struck me this listen were “The War Inside” “Selling The News” and “Vice Verses.”
  • “Life in Technicolor II” by Coldplay. Cried while dancing to this. “Oh love, don’t let me go. Won’t you take me where the streetlights glow? I can hear it coming, like a serenade of sound, now my feet won’t touch the ground. Gravity release me, & don’t ever hold me down, now my feet won’t touch the ground…”
  • Tow’rs’ “The Great Minimum” album. So lovely and poetic. It puts me in a wintery mood I can nestle into. My favorite songs from it are “Porcelain” “Solace” and “The Kitchen.”
  • “22” by Taylor Swift. Because my 22nd birthday was this month and it had to be done.
  • “Open Skies” by The Band Foster. These are my friends and they released their song and music video this month, woo!
  • Cory Emery’s “A New Heart” ep. Cory was my youth pastor in middle school; I’ve always loved the music he’s made. This ep is his newest venture and I’m into it– church music with good vibes. I think “Light of Your Love” is my favorite from it.

If you want all of these songs in one playlist, I made it already! It has every song I’ve put in Soul Food posts so far this year, so scroll to the bottom for the newest additions.

And I know a lot of you would rather use Spotify than YouTube, so although not every song is available there and I am not a big Spotify fan, I finally made the playlist there, too, at least as much as I could. The best way to help artists on Spotify is to add their music to playlists, so if you like any of the songs on it, think about adding them to your own playlists, too! I cannot stress how important it is to support artists if you want them to continue creating.

Find the playlist on YouTube here and on Spotify here.

Movies/YouTube/TVsleeping-beauty-spell

  • Christian Collins’ recent vlogs. He’s just such a wonderful human and warms my heart; I love hearing his gratitude and his wonder and his thoughts in day-to-day life.
  • Scorpion. It’s back! I love these characters a lot.
  • Designated Survivor. An intriguing perspective on government and the big picture. I think it’s relevant.
  • Ancient Aliens. My brother and I spent a day watching it and laughing as we cleaned the house. It’s a cool culture study, that they happen to punctuate with “because aliens.”
  • Holes. It makes me emotional in a good handful of ways. For some reason I can’t quite pinpoint, I think it’s a really special film.
  • “Taming Your Hamster – Tips & Talk.” I know probably no one else needs this video right now, but I found it super helpful after getting a nervous little hamster this month. I didn’t follow it strictly, because all hamsters are different, but it was nice to have when I needed its advice.
  • Sleeping Beauty. Such a beautiful film experience. The art, the music, the fairy tale… ugh, I love it.
  • The first episode of “Rhett & Link’s Buddy System.” You probably already know I love Rhett and Link because I vocalize it a lot. They recently premiered their YouTube Red series, and, while I can’t afford the service, the first episode is free and it’s super funny. If you have YouTube Red definitely give the series a try!
  • Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade. I don’t know why I wanted to watch so many movies this month, but I was genuinely craving my favorite Indiana Jones movie (and by favorite I mean the only one I like, haha)!
  • I accidentally discovered episodes of “The Shirley Temple Show” online while looking for a short film version of The House of Seven Gables; not only did I end up enjoying her version of the story, I also found her version of The Princess and The Goblin. I’ve read both books, and I have to say the interpretation of The Princess and The Goblin is pretty loose, but it was fun to experience nonetheless. Her version of The House of Seven Gables, though, was pretty spot on, and less annoying the book.
  • Continued watching “Edgar Allan Poe’s Murder Mystery Dinner Party,” which concluded on Halloween. I am slightly obsessed and have seen every episode so many times.

Books/Blogs/Articles51v6chfsbwl-_sl_300_

  • Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery. Absolutely delightful. I adore this series. [If you want to keep up with the books I’m reading in real time, you can follow me on Goodreads!]
  • “How We Could Get to Be The Kind of People The World Needs Right Now” by Ann Voskamp. “Regardless of nationality, of worldviews, of politics, we all belong to each other, we all belong to the family where our faces reflect the image of God and at the end of the day — we have to learn to live with each other, be neighbours with each other, heal with each other.”
  • “Dear Fears Trying to Break Us All” also by Ann Voskamp. Just so good.
  • Colony House’s tour journals. One of my favorite bands sharing some stream-of-consciousness thoughts while on the road? Yes. Yes to that.
  • “My Son, The Prince of Fashion” by Michael Chabon. This piece is a bit long and a little sweary, but it’s just such an interesting, personal story I felt privileged to hear. “He was not flying his freak flag; he was sending up a flare, hoping for rescue, for company in the solitude of his passion.”
  • “How Do I Engage Honestly With Respect to Other’s Spiritual Journey?” A “Dear Addie” letter with Addie Zierman. Many of us feel like the negative rainclouds living among people of sunshine; this response and assurance is wonderful.

 

Any thoughts?

