Soul Food {September 2016}

Standard

A lot of transition and change happened in my life this month, and I’m learning that’s a good place to be in. These are some of the things I carried with me, though a few probably carried me instead.

Musiccssvasfwaaa1xrm

  • “Stuff We Did” from the Up soundtrack. It’s wordless, but it spoke so loudly to me. Playing it on my piano helped me heal.
  • “Where Is The Love” by The Black Eyed Peas featuring “the world.” I can’t begin to explain how moving and powerful this is. I’ve listened to it so many times and I still can’t do so without crying. We need to internalize it. “If you never speak truth then you never know how love sounds, and if you never know love then you never know God.” [The video has disturbing images and there’s a little profanity.]
  • “Worst Way” by Christian Collins. If you don’t know that I’m always gonna promote and support what he does then you haven’t been following me for very long. Proud of him.
  • “Empty House” by Relient K. I talked about the new album two months ago when it came out, but I had this particular song on repeat for a while. It was a lovely companion for me in the beginnings of the morning.
  • Spencer Sutherland’s cover of “Ride.” His voice is insane; I can’t get over his range. Plus this is a fun interpretation of a song I like. When he covers good songs, I listen over and over.
  • Millie Thrasher’s cover of “How Deep Is Your Love.” This came to me at a time when I was discovering a few lies ingrained in me about love and relationships, and helped me feel a bit more healthy. Also her voice is so beautiful and the production on this is stunning.
  • “The Upside Down” by Andy Mineo. Just a solid jam.
  • “Jack and Jill, Part Two” by The Gray Havens. An anthem for me recently. “And we were feeling new, as if everything sad came untrue…”
  • “Can You Hear Me?” by Fleurie. She recently released a new album and this song is my favorite from it. She’s a big inspiration to me; she writes such meaningful, dreamy music, and her voice is gentle yet soul-piercing. I met her at a concert this month and she was so warm and kind. Love, love, love.
  • “Warm Up” by NF. He released this song to celebrate the beginning of his tour; I got to go to my state’s show with two of my best friends and it was so much fun.
  • “Clay” by Grace VanderWaal. She was on America’s Got Talent and stunned me with her heartfelt original music every single performance. I was so happy to see her win. This song from the finals gets stuck in my head every once in a while.
  • “Thinkin Bout You” by Aaron Krause. I have spent probably hours jamming to this, genuinely. The sound is infectious and right up my alley, the theme is down-to-earth and sweet, and I just think it’s such a great song. [There’s a profanity in it, which bothers me a little, but I just love the song too much to let a word ruin it for me. If you want a non-explicit version there’s an acoustic live session, but I don’t like it as much.]

If your taste in music is all across the board like mine and you want to listen to these songs in one place, I’ve made a playlist! It has all of my music picks from this year so if you only want this month’s they are near the bottom.

Movies/YouTube/TVbeauty-and-the-beast-art

  • Chicken Run. Because my mom found it and it’s a ridiculous classic.
  • Still watching “Edgar Allan Poe’s Murder Mystery Dinner Party” and laughing with every episode; Lauren Lopez as George Eliot slays me. The longer the series goes the more invested I am in the mystery. Who is killing all these authors?! And why?!
  • Captain America: Civil War. Not my favorite Marvel movie, but Spiderman is in it and he’s one of my favorite characters from anything. [Some profanity and lots of punching/shooting/throwing stuff at each other.]
  • Beauty and The Beast. I forgot how stunning it is. I love watching classic Disney films because the animation and music are lovely, but this one… there’s just something about it. Enchanting in every sense.
  • “The Voice.” I’ve never tuned in to this particular singing completion before, and so far I’m a fan of the format: coaches instead of judges, with blind auditions and kind words and a genuine love for music.
  • Rhett and Link playing with a Bop It. Way too entertaining.

Books/Blogs/Articles65788

  • “Loving Your Enemy, Even When It’s ISIS? Yes, Even Then” on Preemptive Love Coalition. An incredible story with truths I can’t get out of my head. “ISIS beheads and burns its enemies. That’s why we must feed and clothe ours.”
  • “This is Not How I Pictured Jerusalem” by Emily P. Freeman. I love the scripture she paired with her experience. More people need to know what she discovered.
  • “The Performance Principle” by Richard Rohr. He and I don’t come from similar backgrounds, but I still gained some necessary soul-checks from this. “One of the only ways God can get us to let go of our private salvation project is some kind of suffering.”
  • “The Unlikely Thing You Have to Believe When You’re Living a Life You Didn’t Choose” by Ann Voskamp. She writes the real stuff. I am so grateful to her. “The cross you’ve been given– is always God’s kindest decision.”
  • The “Stories” page on Joshua Harris’ website. He’s opened himself up to receive feedback on his books and the effect they’ve had on people’s lives, and he shares these anonymous stories with us. Some of them are a bit blame-heavy, but some of them are very honest accounts of experiences a generation can relate to. I confess I’ve taken the time to read every single one of them, and even to submit one of my own (have fun guessing which).
  • Anne of The Island by L.M. Montgomery. Wondrous moments, relatable moments, humorous moments, with such loveable characters. So good. [You can keep up with my reading progress on Goodreads if it tickles your fancy.]
  • “The Powerful Reason Why We All Have to Get Out of Bed– That Changes a Broken World,” also by Ann Voskamp. This showed up during a week I struggled to get out of bed each morning. You bet I listened. “What you are in love with decides what you live for.”

I promise I am still writing and will be more active here soon! In the meantime, thank you for letting me rest for a while.

Any thoughts?

