Soul Food {April 2016}

Standard

What a whirlwind this month was, like a crazy tornado. I am so ready for something new. These seemingly random and unrelated media choices reflect the chaos a little bit.

Music12346319_10153880249153694_6029155137846022685_n

  • “Sparrows” by Jason Gray. Jason is one of my favorites; he creates such emotional yet hopeful and truthful pieces, without pretense or Christianese. Plus he is just good at what he does musically, too. Such a fan of his. This song is new, and joyful.
  • “Alive With Worship” by Newday, the Chris Howland remix. I love finding CCM that sounds fresh and simply good (honestly, it’s a rare thing for me). This upbeat remix of a worship song is like that. I found it on The Good Christian Music Blog, which I also recommend; it has playlists for electronica, hip hop, indie, plus other genres, too! What?!
  • The acoustic version of “What Do You Mean?” by Justin Bieber. Acoustic versions of anything are my jam. When they’re done by the original artist? Score.
  • “December” by Zoe Boekbinder. Less than two minutes long, but it takes you on a lovely, melancholy journey.
  • “Up&Up” by Coldplay. A calm soundtrack with hope in it, for stormy days inside.
  • “Soap” by Melanie Martinez, the Solstis remix. One of my current favorites to dance/exercise to.
  • “Stay” by Tyler Ward ft. Cody Johns. I spent a Sunday afternoon lying in bed listening to this on loop. Love it. I feel like I recommend a lot of Tyler Ward, but eh, you do you, Tessa.
  • “Lost Boy” by Ruth B. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous.
  • “If You Ever Come Back” by The Script. A fun yet emotion-laced song, which is a combination I love.
  • “Thank God” by Jon McLaughlin. He’s one of my favorites. This song from his latest album is so sweet and sincere, and fun to have playing in the background when I’m making art so I can belt along.
  • “Storm” by Lifehouse. Stunning. It came on while I was working on a piece in the middle of the night, and it couldn’t have been more perfect.
  • “More” by Sevin ft. Mark Driscoll. The chorus… so good. I declared it a lot this month. I’m also just obsessed with the beat. The pieces of a sermon in it are good, too, albeit a little tiring after a couple of listens.
  • “Steady Me” by KXC ft. Karen Gillespie. Passionate and thunderous. Love it.
  • “Flow Like Wine” by Gabe Dixon. When the chorus of this song hits… you’ll just have to see. Trust me.
  • “Running With Giants” by Thousand Foot Krutch. I love them and I always will; I don’t think they can put out something I won’t like. This song is from their upcoming album and I’m pretty pumped about it.
  • “Daisy Chain” by Shakey Graves. I just love his sound, and the way what he makes reminds me of visits to my dad’s hometown when I was little.
  • Nick Primuth’s “Her Middle Name Was Jane” ep. I fell in love with this throughout the first listen. Such sincere songwriting and lovely, comfortable sound. I played it on an anxiety-filled night, and it was such a nice voice to have speaking. Can’t pick a favorite from it.

If you want to listen to all of these songs in one convenient playlist, I made one for you! It features all of my 2016 Soul Food music picks so far, and it’s a pretty great playlist, if I’m allowed to say so. [Nick Primuth’s ep is not featured in the playlist because I could only find it on Noisetrade, so please do check it out there!]

Movies/YouTube/TVd2b159cb48aefcc157ce3d7af22daca0

  • “Songs That Tell Her Side of The Story: Esmé Patterson at TEDxMileHigh.” Such a cool concept– writing songs from the perspectives of women sung about in other songs. Her music that carries out this concept is just beautiful, transports me.
  • I’ve recommended their individual videos before, but I watch Good Mythical Morning every day and it is guaranteed to get a laugh out of me at least once each episode. Who doesn’t need a guaranteed laugh in their day? These guys do such bizarre things on their show but I love them for it. [Side note: do you know how long I scoured the internet for a photo of them that wasn’t like this? A long time, friend.]
  • The 0-100 series by Soul Pancake. A hundred people, representing ages 0-100, are asked one question, and their answers are so interesting and often beautiful. I learn so much about my humanity family through these short videos.
  • “4 Things Christians Forget About Politics” by Jefferson Bethke. Dang this nails it. I respect Jeff and his thorough research a ton.
  • I’ve recommended The Bible Project before, but their video on Jonah shared so many things I didn’t know that I have to mention them again. They do amazing work!
  • Kenzie & Harris. They are such a darling couple that I’ve enjoyed seeing on her music channel, and now I get to watch them be cute on their vlog channel, too! They seriously seem like such lovely people.

Books/Blogs/Articlesyellow anne

  • “Why We Need to Stop Trying So Hard” by Ruth Soukup. This hugged me tight. “We focus on our need to achieve perfection, and forget that the hard work has already been done for us, in spite of us.”
  • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I had never read it before, and now I understand how big a deal that is, because I am Anne and Anne is me and it is such a lovely story! Currently reading the next book in the series. [You can keep up with me on Goodreads? If you wanna? Eh?]
  • “When You’re Finding It Hard to Keep Up” by Ann Voskamp. Learning what the word “follow” actually means in the verse “surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life”? Huge.
  • “How to Love The People Who Have Hurt You”, also by Ann Voskamp. Because lately I’ve been needing a reminder to love my enemies every single day.
  • “Your Growth May Threaten Others, Grow Anyway” by Donald Miller. Changing is a good, normal thing and I needed to be told that. “Suddenly, after a series of experiences that had changed you, you went back and felt a chasm between the way people were treating you and who you really were. They hadn’t realized you’d changed.” I really love this post.

I’m taking part in the “What I’m Into” linkup over at Leigh Kramer’s space. Be sure to go visit if you like monthly round up posts like this.

Any thoughts?

