Soul Food {February 2016}

Standard

This month was wild in a lot of ways. It was good, but I am ready for something new. You’ll see in these lists a lot of the diverse things that I needed to hear and know.

But first, a quick announcement! A few people have asked me about where they can find the music I’m listening to on a regular basis. These monthly lists are the best way to do that, but I share individual links because I’m aware my taste is all over the place and that not all of it will be everyone’s cuppa (which is totally cool). I wanted to make it easier for you if you want to listen to all of the songs without having to click on each individual link, so I’ve started a YouTube playlist of the music recommendations I make in Soul Food each month. You can find it right here!

Musicff361b980cf28b9d4a9bd62fb2cf1c44

  • This instrumental medley of “Wildest Dreams” and “Bad Blood.” Absolutely stunning. This is what I want the soundtrack of my life to sound like.
  • Rusty Clanton’s cover of “Neptune.” The mood he brings to all his music is lovely, and this one is a bit more on the thoughtful, haunting side of things. I always enjoy seeing something new from him.
  • “Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall” by Coldplay. Everyone talking about Coldplay made me remember how much I adore them. This song brings me into my joys and hopes, as so many of their songs do.
  • “You and Me” by Ben Rector. The vibe is happy, the lyrics are bittersweet, and I love all of it. I needed it with me.
  • Tenth Avenue North’s “Cathedrals” album. This album expresses truths and provokes thoughts for me like very few albums have before. I am so grateful for it. My favorite songs on it are “I Need You, I Love You, I Want You” “Heaven’s Sound” and “We Won’t Numb The Pain.”
  • “Slow Motion” by Matt Wertz. I’m a longtime fan of his, and the way his sound has evolved into this chill groove is totally okay with me. Had his new single on repeat the entire day it released.
  • “Never Forget You” by Zara Larsson and MNEK. I accidentally listened to the wrong radio show for 45 minutes (I know: how?!), but this song being played was the highlight of that experience. Gorgeous vocals and a cool, modern sound, with lyrics I felt.
  • “100 Years” by Five for Fighting. This song randomly showed up in my life three times within a week; you bet I listened to it a lot more, with an open heart. I guess I needed to be told that every season is good and must be savored. Beautiful song.
  • “The Banjolin Song” by Mumford & Sons. I listened to my favorite Pandora station a lot this month. This is one of the songs that would pop up and make me smile.
  • “Runaway” by Jess Ray. Listening to this on a bleak day was bliss and comfort.
  • “Mess is Mine” by Vance Joy. I adore this song; a love that is willing to get into the messes with you is beyond value. Beautiful, homey singer-songwriter sound.
  • “Stained Glass” by Jon Guerra. He opened for Rend Collective when I saw them in concert this month, and his music swept me away. So lovely, in sound and in heart.

Movies/YouTube/TVwalter mitty

  • “Chris Martin Carpool Karaoke.” I think this series in general is so fun, but I got way too excited when I saw the lead singer of Coldplay was the next guest; I am quite the Coldplay fan and I just really enjoy his spirit for life. This car ride would be such a blast!
  • Jack Frost, the 1979 animated special. My brother has informed me that I am the only human being who enjoys it, but whatever. I’m determined to watch it every Groundhog Day. I think it’s a lovely little film with a sweet air and the theme of greatest love– laying down your life for your friends.
  • Jefferson Bethke unpacking the objectification of women. This instantly became my favorite anything about this subject, and that’s big, because I am deeply passionate about this subject. Such good information on our brains, on scripture, on where our hearts need to be. He speaks of all human beings, not just women, and I love it. This, this, this.
  • “Live Your Song,” a TEDtalk by Jon Foreman. I love what he has to say about how we live our lives and how we fit with the world around us. He sees and thinks in poetry, and hearing him describe his perspective is a privilege.
  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. One of my favorite films. Walter was never a coward, but he sold himself short, and seeing him leave the boxes he’d lived in his whole life always makes me cheer.
  • The “Song of Songs” installment of The Bible Project’s “Read Scripture” series. I appreciate The Bible Project so much; their exegesis is thorough and they just genuinely want to share the knowledge they’ve found to open more eyes to the heart of God. Some great information here.
  • Rhett & Link singing “A Song For When You Want to Say ‘I Love You’ But You Can’t.” So weird, but somehow great. Which is a good description of my general thoughts on these guys and what they make, haha!
  • Also by Rhett & Link, I watched basically every episode of their daily show, Good Mythical Morning, that was “Will It?” themed and cried laughing for hours. Why does two grown men dry heaving after eating weird food entertain me? It probably shouldn’t…
  • The Good Dinosaur. I heard quite a few people saying they didn’t love this movie; you will not be hearing that from me. It touched me so much. It was beautifully animated, it brought emotion out of me, and it was cute enough to make me giggle.
  • “Simon Beck – Snowartist.” I am always inspired by artists who do things unconventionally, who put their entire being into what they make, who do what they do out of love. This man’s giant-scale art made in the snow with his feet? Breathtaking.

Books/Articles/BlogsJesus Storybook Bible

  • “When You Always Feel a Strange Homesickness: How to Find Your Way Home” by Christie Purifoy. “The great promise has always been, not that we would go to live with God, but that God would come to make His home with us.”
  • “Why and How You Daydream” on Psychology Today. This was just an interesting subject to me that I wanted to learn a little bit more about. Crazy (and, to be honest, a bit convicting) to read that those who daydream about unattainable things are generally less happy and content in their lives.
  • “What You Focus On Is What Becomes Powerful– Why Your Thoughts and Feelings Matter” on Hey Sigmund. I am becoming a fan of this blog more and more the longer I’m subscribed to it; I so appreciate that it shares important psychology information in simple language, making the information accessible and applicable. This article in particular speaks of the brain science behind positivity and the effect it has on our contentment in life. Huge.
  • The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones. It might be a children’s Bible, but reading it for myself was a time of growth and learning. The theology is so solid. It points to Jesus in every single story, showing that the Bible and the story of humanity is unified and centers around Him and His love for us. I am so excited about the generation that is growing up with this book!
  • “When You’re Struggling: Who Can You Really Trust These Days?” by Beth Moore. Real talk about how fear is the driving force of all that hurts us, and how we can “trade it in for trust.”
  • “When You Don’t Feel Good Enough to Really Be Loved” by Christa Hesselink. I relate so deeply to her story. The difference between knowing something to be true and believing it in your core is huge, and I love the hope she shares– that someday I’ll believe what I know, because my Father is going to change my heart to believe it.
  • A Little Princess, the adaptation by Tania Zamorsky. A friend told me to read this story and pay attention to Sara. Sara displays that no matter how badly you are treated or how terrible your circumstances are, you can rest in your value and identity with dignity and strength. Her story is such an encouragement. I couldn’t find the Frances Hodgson Burnett novel anywhere, but this little adaptation was a good summary.

Taking part in Leigh Kramer’s “What I’m Into” link-up, as usual. Be sure to browse around there if you like seeing what other people have been taking in and enjoying.

2 responses »

  1. The Jesus Storybook Bible is just as relevant for adults as it is for kids! I recommend it all the time, and I can’t read it without crying!

Any thoughts?

