Soul Food

Soul Food {October 2015}

I tried to narrow these lists down this month, but October brought a lot of good things to feed my soul with! It was a full month in a lot of ways. These things helped me ride the wind through it a little more smoothly.

Music446003117_1280

  • “Climbing Clouds” by Jetty Rae. Not only is it gorgeous musically, but this song has a radiant heart in it. I haven’t been able to make it through the video without breaking into tears. I’ve cried to the song itself for my own reasons, too, reasons that don’t really make sense, but the tears can’t lie. I can’t express how special it is.
  • Nick Pitera’s cover/mash-up of “Stitches” by Shawn Mendes and “Should’ve Been Us” by Tori Kelly. I looked up both of those songs (because I’m uncultured and only hear popular music through covers), thinking they’d be incredible because Mr. Pitera’s mash-up was beyond captivating– and they were “meh” in comparison. He nailed it.
  • “Down” by Dodie Clark. Maybe you’ve heard me say my favorite kind of music is the kind that inspires me to make my own. This is like that. Beautifully raw.
  • The Piano Guys’ cover of “A Sky Full of Stars” by Coldplay. Sweeping and lovely. I didn’t know I could like Coldplay more.
  • Aaron Tveit’s cover of “One Song Glory.” Because it’s Aaron Tveit, duh. This is my morning jam and starts me out happy.
  • Following the Aaron Tveit theme, he did a cover of a song from Wicked with current Broadway cast member Rachel Tucker, and it’s very good. I have basically zero exposure to Wicked, but I’ve heard the song before, and this version is such a lovely take on something that didn’t really pull me in before.
  • “The Oak Tree” by Emily Hearn. A hug. “I’m old enough to leave home, but way too young to know what I should do. I’m treading water, I’m trying to keep my head above the ground…”
  • Andy Mineo’s “Uncomfortable” album. I’ve mentioned my respect for his music before, but my mom gave me his new album for my birthday and I’ve been listening, grooving along, and pondering over it ever since.
  • Heath McNease’s “Salem Songs” ep. He wrote, recorded, and released this in practically a week– and it is brilliant. A little brooding, a lot thoughtful. “Rev. Hooper (The Minister’s Black Veil)” made me gasp. Get it!
  • “Hello” by Adele. Just stunning. You’ve probably heard it and been enraptured by it already.
  • Jon Foreman’s “Dawn” ep. I know I’ve mentioned Jon Foreman’s “The Wonderlands” project multiple times, but it’s completely released now and I’m just taken aback by the way it’s come together. The final ep may be my favorite of all of them; multiple songs on it make me laugh out of the purest joy. And the full effect of all 25 songs together, in order, is almost like a journey I get to embark on. This project is going to stand the test of time.
  • “Ghosts” by August Burns Red, featuring Jeremy McKinnon. This song hits hard, with sound and with truth. Hardcore music can be so special; I think it’s a powerful way to deliver something. “You and I, we were once the same.” Huge shiver. [The video is heartbreaking, so be warned.]
  • “Be Kind to Yourself” by Andrew Peterson. Some of us forget this; I have recently. His songwriting is like a reassuring arm around my shoulders.
  • Andrew Ripp’s cover of “Mirrors” by Justin Timberlake. He is so talented; I’m obsessed.
  • “Good Good Father” by Chris Tomlin. Because I need this perspective daily.

Movies/TV/YouTubedea9e00c28cdae4aea65de1fa2905a13

  • “Mat Franco’s Got Magic.” I forgot to share this last month so BAM! His magic tricks are mind-blowing and he’s adorable. I’ve been a fan since his America’s Got Talent audition. Maybe my favorite trick from the special was the one with the ramen. How?! How?!!
  • The “Craftversations” Series by Mary Kate Wiles. I enjoy each episode so much! Genuine conversation between two creative friends that I get to listen in on. As a bonus, the things they craft always look so cool and inspire me to make my own! [Occasional innuendo? Maybe? I’m not really sure I just have such a good time!]
  • “Heroes: Reborn.” I started watching it because of Zachary Levi’s presence in it, but the premiere was genuinely gripping. I continue to watch all the different story arcs within the one grand plot and feel invested in nearly each. [Violent. Quite violent. It’s the thing I don’t like about it.]
  • This video from Schizophrenia Awareness Week. Ever since reading a novel written from the perspective of a girl with schizophrenia when I was young, I’ve cared a lot of about those who suffer from it and wanted to combat the misconceptions/carelessness most people carry about it. This video is a great introduction.
  • “Animated Explanation of The Law” from The Bible Project. The videos they make remind me of Bible college courses I’ve taken; I highly recommend them! This one about The Law is one I wish a ton of people in the world would watch.
  • Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. This is one of my favorite films. I always relate to Mahoney in some aspect, and the way she learns about life and the joy to be found in it is a light to me. Plus, there are so many lovely lines and special little story-telling devices the filmmakers implemented. I just love it. We watched it on my birthday.
  • Tom Hanks and Jimmy Fallon performing skits written by children. I laughed so much! Tom Hanks is a gem.
  • Tomorrowland. I didn’t really have any expectations for this film, but I ended up being enamored by the ideas it shared with me. Those who hope are those who make the future bright; power lives in dreamers. I can get behind that.
  • This video on Myers-Briggs types and figuring it all out. This explains it in a way I’ve never heard before, and I ate it up. I took notes on a YouTube video, guys. [A little language.]
  • “The Lion’s Blaze 3” by Olan Rogers. It’s hilarious no matter what, but if you like video games/know gaming lingo you will want to give this a hearty hi-five.

Books/Articles/Blogsreading Just Jane music

Psst: I’m taking part in Leigh Kramer’s “What I’m Into” link up this month, so feel free to check that out if you like these kinds of posts! Lots to explore there.

4 thoughts on “Soul Food {October 2015}

    1. Thank you! I do have a Spotify but I only really use it for listening to Jon Foreman’s new albums right now, no playlists haha! I try to buy albums when I can. The best place to find my music is right here every month!

Any thoughts?

