On Media & Art

Notes from “Love Does”

I’ve read two (and a half!) books from my summer reading list so far, which is sad compared to the overwhelming amount I usually read in the summer. But I am completely okay with that. Why? Because one of the books was “Love Does.”

“Love Does” is a part-memoir-part-devotional written by a man named Bob Goff. My Aunt Cheryl sent me a copy because it’s one of her favorites, and I am so thankful that she did, because it’s become one of my favorites, too. I had been working through some legalism in my heart, and my aunt knew. When I told her how much I was enjoying the book, she wrote back, “We make things too hard but God makes his love for us very simple!” She captured a big piece of the essence of the book in that sentence, I think. As I continued to read, I repeatedly discovered how uncomplicated things are when I believe Jesus is who He says He is– my lover, my compass, my provider, my dream-giver. The way I think and the way I see my own circumstances have changed since Mr. Goff told me his stories.

It’s hard to explain all that I learned from the book and what I do differently because of it, so I think I will just share the notes I took as I was processing everything. They will all be quotes, some on photos I’ve edited and some simply typed here in this post. I desperately want you to read this book, and hopefully these quotes will push you to go find a copy. Thank you for all that you have done for me, Aunt Cheryl and Mr. Goff!

Fully loving and fully living are not only synonymous but the kind of life that Jesus invited us to be part of.

Being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving. It’s about going to extremes and expressing the bright hope that makes us brave and expels darkness with light. That’s what I want my life to be all about– full of abandon, whimsy, and in love.Love DoesLove DoesThe only thing Jesus said He couldn’t serve up were people who were full of themselves or believed the lie that they were who they used to be before they met Him.Love DoesWill you take what you think defines you, leave it behind, and let Me define you instead?Love DoesLove DoesLove DoesI wonder if the people listening for voices or looking for cloud shapes miss the whisper of God’s creation, somehow thinking it’s a lesser form of communication.

Getting passed by can feel like a great injury. But it’s not. It’s people like us who can be secretly incredible and get the most done.

Instead of closing our eyes and bowing our heads, sometimes God wants us to keep our eyes open for people in need, do something about it, and bow our whole lives to Him instead.Love DoesWouldn’t it be a horrible thing if we studied the ones we loved instead of bonding in deeper ways by doing things with them?

I can’t make a real need matter to me by listening to the story, visiting the website, collecting information, or wearing the bracelet about it. I need to pick the fight myself.

Just agreeing isn’t enough. I can’t think of a single time where Jesus asked His friends to just agree with Him.

. . . strong enough to be vulnerable even with your enemies. . .Love DoesThat’s the way the chemistry of God’s love and our creativity work together when combined. No reservoir can hold it, no disappointment can stop it, and no impediment can contain it. It can’t be waved off, put off, or shut down. It doesn’t take no for an answer. Instead, it assumes yes is the answer even when it sounds an awful lot like a no to everyone else.

He made us to be good at a few things and bad at a couple others. He made us to love some things and not like others. Most of all, He made us to dream.

Any thoughts?

