Why We All Need Prayer Partners

Standard

Prayer Partner: Someone there to pray with you, remind you that you are never alone through the mountains and valleys of life.

taken for the 5:19 Photo Project, 2013

When me and my friend, Holly, were paired up to be accountability partners for a challenge our Bible study group was doing, we called each other weekly to check up on our progress. I began to really look forward to these phone calls, and when the challenge was over, I asked if she would like to continue being prayer partners. We’ve been contacting each other pretty much weekly ever since.

Do you have a prayer partner? I’ve asked Holly to write the next post or two with me, and hopefully we can help you find one or give you ideas for your time with the one you already have! In this post we’re sharing a few reasons why this is so important. My words are in purple, hers are in blue.

So, why DO we need prayer partners? Well,

  1. You have someone established you can go to when you need it. I’ve had plenty of people who were willing to pray for me, and every once in a while I would ask them to, but I never really knew who to talk to. I would go through a long list of possible people I could trust with whatever situation I needed prayer for, and by the time I actually decided on one and contacted them, the issue was already abating and I was more emotionally steady. In my true moments of need I was still figuring out who to go to! Having Holly as my established prayer partner allows me to spend more time in prayer and less in unnecessary worry. When a need comes up, I know who I’m calling. Not that I don’t ask other people, as well, but it’s a relief to know she’s prepared for me.
  2. Your friendship with them quickly becomes deep. Sometimes life grabs and throws you for a spin, sometimes its little things sometimes its big things, and sometimes it’s a great amazing adventure spinning on your heart that you desire to share with another. In these times, you will find that a prayer partner is just the person you need. Someone to be there, listen, and pray with you no matter where you are. Not only is it an excuse to get to know someone deeper, but also it’s a blessing to have someone take the time to get to know you in a deeper friendship.
  3. You remember to pray for others besides yourself. All too often I find myself only praying for… well, myself. Having Holly share her requests with me on a regular basis has been a great reminder to pray for someone else, especially because we don’t simply ask for prayer during our phone calls; we often share our feelings about our requests and WHY we want prayer. It makes me realize that when someone is willing to ask for prayer about something, it’s usually a big deal to them/what’s been on their mind and heart lately. It’s a privilege when someone asks for your prayers, have you actually considered that?
  4. You have someone to keep you accountable. Encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. (Hebrews 3:13)
  5. Paul and other Believers wrote letters to Churches asking for prayer connection. Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, To all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. Philippians 1:3-5 You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many. 2 Corinthians 1:11
  6. God tells us to be in prayer. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:1
4 responses »

    • Do you have a church or Bible study group you go to regularly? Maybe grow in some relationships there and you’ll find a good fit; me and Holly’s prayer partnership happened over time as we grew together at Bible study. I hope it works out for you!

Any thoughts?

