Yours

Standard

Song of Songs 8:11-14–

[continuing with SHE]

Solomon had a vineyard at Baal-hamon; he let out the vineyard to keepers; each one was to bring for its fruit a thousand pieces of silver. My vineyard, my very own, is before me; you, O Solomon, may have the thousand, and the keepers of the fruit two hundred.

HE

O you who dwell in the gardens, with companions listening for your voice; let me hear it.

SHE

Make haste, my beloved, and be like a gazelle or a young stag on the mountains of spices.

     What I found: The love radiating from this final passage of the Song of Songs is crazy. I’ve said before that I believe this book in the Bible is more than just a love song from Solomon to a woman; if this was important enough to put in the Bible, it has depth. That depth lies in the analogies and parallels hidden in these verses to teach us about God’s love for us. I will admit to you that I haven’t seriously felt His love for me in a long time. I know it to be true, I see it in my life and all around me, but that feeling I had at the beginning– dormant. Some days I almost feel like this is a lost cause, like I might never feel Him again. But I have this when everything else fails: He loves me, if I feel it or if I don’t. He uses passages like this one to encourage me to stay, to remind me of His love. That’s why I can share with you every week– not because I’m on a high, but because I know His love is real and deeper than my emotions. Now, let’s take a look at the final piece of the book! When I read it, I imagined God owning a vineyard, His treasure and sunshine. The vineyard is His, and it always will be; the keepers are just there to make sure the fruit is doing its job. They even have to pay a large sum to be able to do so. I imagined that we were that vineyard, and the keepers were our earthly spouses. We are His, always. He allows us to marry, but we are intended for Him. He is our true Keeper, the Bible says as much. No matter how wonderful and godly your marriage ends up being, this is only the beginning! It’s not even a taste of what it will be like when Jesus comes back for you! Something else to see here is our value. Our husbands must see what we are worth, be willing to sacrifice for us, or they cannot take care of us. Jesus has said this very clearly to me in my own life: I must marry a man who knows my value, the value that Jesus gave to me when He died for me. If a man does not treat me with worth, then he will never be the one God says I can marry. This isn’t about thinking your husband needs to bow down to you or spoil you; it’s about knowing God designed marriage to be a picture of His relationship with us, therefore the love must be deep and the truth must be acted upon. Your marriage will never measure up to that fully, but it should be the model you strive after. Take this from the passage: give all that your husband has paid for you, and give it to Jesus. It was His anyway. Repay your husband with your own love and sacrifice, but give even that to Him. He deserves it all, it is all in His vineyard. No matter how much anyone loves you, He loves you more, and He longs for you. Let Him have you, because you have been His from the beginning!

     What did you find in today’s Scripture? What has Love Lessons from God meant to you? Do you have any questions about His love?

Any thoughts?

