Let Love

Standard

Song of Songs 8:8-10–

OTHERS

We have a little sister, and she has no breasts. What shall we do for our sister on the day she is spoken for? If she is a wall, we will build on her a battlement of silver, but if she is a door, we will enclose her with boards of cedar.

SHE

I was a wall, and my breasts were like towers; then I was in his eyes as one who finds peace.

What I found: Some worry because they don’t feel they can be like her; they think they need decoration. Do you feel the same? In your eyes, does it seem like you can’t measure up to someone Jesus would love? Do you try to add things to yourself to make Him love you? Take the advice hidden in this passage: the decorations close you up. That habit you try to form might make you look good, but it covers you if that’s the only reason you do it. It makes it harder for anyone to get in, even seals you away from Jesus and His voice. Working on yourself is a good thing, but not if you’re doing it with the intention of earning God’s or anybody’s love. Don’t add anything to yourself that Jesus isn’t growing in you. He knows your flaws and will work on them one at a time, and He’ll love you before, during, and after the entire process. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by your flaws, that is not from Him. He will never belittle you. He reveals to you what He is working on at this time, and He does it gently, to show you He loves you despite that thing. You don’t have to do anything to make Him love you, because He already does! A question arises from this same verse: are you a wall or a door? (Or my friend Carlie who said, “I think I’m a wall… with a little doggie door.” Haha!) Do you tend to shut people out initially so that they need to be willing to climb to get to you? Or do you tend more toward letting people in after a knock or two? Don’t worry, neither of these is the right or wrong option. I think I’m a door; once I’ve talked to someone a few times, I’m willing to tell them anything about my life. I don’t pour out my heart to everybody, but I’d tell anyone pretty much anything if they’d ask. No matter which one you are, let me give you little pieces of advice. Walls: be guarded, but don’t push people away. Walls aren’t hostile. They protect from harmful things that aren’t willing/able to climb over them, but they don’t shove everything that approaches away. Protect yourself, but let the people who are willing to climb the wall to know you do so, and make sure Jesus is always inside. Doors: be careful what you let inside. Being open is a wonderful thing, but make sure you know when to be closed, too. If you let in everything that knocks, you will be a mess. Ask Jesus to be the door (John 10:9)! With Him, you’ll be welcoming and open, but know when danger is coming and you need close that door. Use the peephole! Again, no matter which one you are, Jesus wants inside. The girl in the Scripture reveals I was a wall, and that He loved her for it, was willing to climb. He also says in Revelation 3:20, Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. You are loved for who you are inside, for the person that’s behind the skin and words and even deeds. Please remember that as you live your life today.

     What does this mean to you? Did you see anything else in today’s Scripture?

Any thoughts?

