That’s Where I Live

Standard

Song of Songs 6:11-13–

SHE

I went down to the nut orchard to look at the blossoms of the valley, to see whether the vines had budded, whether the pomegranates were in bloom. Before I was aware, my desire set me among the chariots of my kinsman, a prince.

OTHERS

Return, return, O Shulammite, return, return, that we may look upon you.

HE

Why should you look upon the Shulammite, as upon a dance before two armies?

     What I found: While looking for growth, her desire took her to her Prince. Are you trying to grow? What are you doing to achieve that? I’ll use my answer as an example: I am trying to grow out of searching for a husband for myself. I’ve always known that I should let God choose who I’ll marry, but the reality of that is just beginning to sink in. It’s becoming something that requires action, not just resolution. I have tried many times to stop my “quest”, but I always end in failure. Why? Because I’m trying to do it on my own! I was not meant to do anything on my own, especially the hard things. Just look at what Jesus says about His Spirit: If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you. (John 14:15-17) We can’t obey Him with our own strength! This is a big reason why the Holy Spirit was sent: to be our constant Helper. If there is something you know you need to do but have never accomplished, pray that you would hear and follow the Spirit; pray that He would be your strength. I have been, and progress is being made! This truth is evident in the passage today, that you grow when you are close to Him. I love that HE and SHE’s special place is a garden! That’s the first thing I see in today’s Scripture. The other is this: God respects you. All of your life, people will want you to do or be something insincere. They will ask for who you were before you knew Him, when you weren’t pure and were more loose with your standards. God is wooing you from this, He comes to defend you! He says, Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul. (1 Peter 2:11) He values you– not what you do, but the reality inside you! He’s overjoyed when you do good things, and He enjoys your little quirks, but that’s not why He loves you. He simply loves YOU! Listen to Him and stay with Him, instead of returning to where you were. Stay in the garden, because this is where you grow and revel in His beauty!

That’s what I found. What about you?

One response »

  1. Really good. I love the SOS. I don’t see as many posts on it. My favorite verses are SOS 4:9 and 6:5.

    There’s a story about the artist Michelangelo who passed by a block of marble somewhere. He stopped transfixed and said, “I see an angel in there. Quick, bring me my chisel.”

    That is how God sees us. We see the messy, dirty, rock; he sees a masterpiece.

    Thanks.

    Sam

Any thoughts?

