The War Inside

Standard

Song of Songs 6:1-3–

OTHERS

Where has your beloved gone, O most beautiful among women? Where has your beloved turned, that we may seek him with you?

SHE

My beloved has gone down to his garden to the beds of spices, to graze in the gardens and to gather the lilies. I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine; he grazes among the lilies.

     What I found: After she publicly expressed her love for Him, declaring that she is not ashamed but PROUD to be His and speaking of His glory, others began to seek Him. They started realizing what she did at the beginning of the book: they needed and wanted Him. Everywhere you go there are people like this, people who seek answers, but we need to realize that they didn’t begin asking until she began sharing. You can’t wait for people to ask about your relationship with Jesus; they (most likely) won’t know to ask you about Him if you don’t talk about Him! You don’t have to burst out with the Gospel on the sidewalk; just live out life with Him. Do whatever you can, just don’t be silent. People want to know, but don’t always know the right questions or even who to ask. Help them out a little! Be the light! That’s the first part this passage. The other is this: GOD DOESN’T LEAVE. No, you AREN’T alone. He IS there. I don’t know if you feel Him right now. I’ll be honest and say I don’t. I haven’t in a long time, but I know He’s here. All my doubts, everything that tells me He’s gone, is a lie from the enemy. There really is a battle between good and evil: it’s being waged inside you and me and everyone on earth. We have an enemy whose sole mission is to rip us apart from God. He hates God, and because God loves you he wants to destroy you. I don’t know when this battle is going to end, but IT WILL END. God will rescue me. God will rescue YOU. God will restore us and everything we’ve lost. The enemy will not win. We have to be strong now, with God’s strength. We can’t let the enemy steal us away, or we will lose, the ultimate loss. Hold onto Jesus with everything you are! He will protect you; He will never let you fall to somewhere He isn’t. He’s in the deepest holes to catch you. Jesus felt this pain we feel when He died on the cross. Not only did He feel the horrific physical pain of every piece of the process of crucifixion, but He felt the pain of everyone who lived and ever would live, inside and out, all at once. Jesus knows what pain is. When He rose, He rose against pain. He overcame it! Dear friend, the battle is already won! Keep fighting for Him, and let Him fight for you! He’s not gone. This year at Generation Unleashed, I fell on the church floor during worship, sobbing. I prayed over and over, “Come back! Please come back!” Eventually, still on the floor, still sobbing, a woman came and put her hands on my back and began to pray. She alternated prayer with speaking over me, and at one point she cried to me, “Come back to Him, He wants you to come back to Him!” He wasn’t gone– I was. Ask Him to restore you! You see, even in the passage today, He’s where He’s always been: inside you, rejoicing in you, completely YOURS.

This is what I found today. What about you? How can I be praying for the battle inside you?

Any thoughts?

