Older Posts

I Want to Know You

Song of Songs 5:10-16–

SHE

My beloved is radiant and ruddy, distinguished among ten thousand. His head is the finest gold; his locks are wavy, black as a raven. His eyes are doves beside streams of water, bathed in milk, sitting beside a full pool. His cheeks are like beds of spices, mounds of sweet-smelling herbs. His lips are lilies, dripping liquid myrrh. His arms are rods of gold, set with jewels. His body is polished ivory, bedecked with sapphires. His legs are alabaster columns, set on bases of gold. His appearance is like Lebanon, choice as the cedars. His mouth is most sweet, and he is altogether desirable. This is my beloved and this is my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem.

What I found: When I first read today’s passage, I thought, “Wow, how shallow can you get? She just talks about the surface of Him!” But after a while it dawned on me: we are just like her. I don’t mean that we are superficial, and I’m not saying she is, either; what I mean is that we can only scratch the surface of who He is. God is infinite, surpassing us in all areas, yet we tend to think we know everything about Him. We know with our heads that we cannot possibly know everything about Him, but for some reason we act like we can and DO. We latch onto the things we have learned about Him, and that is the picture we have of Him. Now, before you start thinking, “Oh my word I don’t know God at all how can I trust Him now AAAAAH!”, let’s destroy that thought right now. You CAN know God! If you are seeking Him, you know what He needs you to know right now. It’s okay not to know everything about Him! First of all, we don’t have the ability to know everything about ANYTHING, let alone someone like Him, so He wouldn’t ask us to. He knows how little we can comprehend compared to Himself, and He doesn’t look down on us because of that. He asks us to seek Him; that is our job. You discover new things about people you are close to every day, and getting to know Him is like that. Secondly, scratching the surface of who He is, is much different from hardly knowing a normal person. When we don’t know a person very well, we know what they look like, a few personality traits, and maybe a quirk or two– things we have glimpsed. When we catch a glimpse of God, we don’t see His clothes, or His hair, or the way He walks; we don’t hear His laugh, or feel His hands, or learn what His favorite color is (but I bet He loves all of them and can’t choose!); we get a peek at HIM, who He is inside, because He doesn’t put up a front! There’s nothing on the outside to distract from the inside. Other things might distract us, but when we learn something about Him, we can be sure of it! He is trustworthy, that’s one of the first things I learned about Him, so we can love Him without fear! Keep pursuing Him, and you’ll learn more and more reasons to love Him. A word of advice: test everything with Scripture. For example, don’t think He is condemning even if you feel like He is. He promises in the Bible that there is no condemnation in Him, and you can be sure of it! One more little thing: I love that the girl in the book said This is my beloved and this is my friend. That’s how things should be, in our relationships with people and with God.

That’s what I got from today’s Scripture! What did you find?

Any thoughts?

