Older Posts

The Door

Song of Songs 5:2-9–

SHE

I slept, but my heart was awake. A sound! My beloved is knocking. “Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my perfect one, for my head is wet with dew, my locks with the drops of the night.” I had to put off my garment; how could I put it on? I had bathed my feet; how could I soil them? My beloved put his hand to the latch, and my heart was thrilled within me. I arose to open to my beloved, and my hands dripped with myrrh, my fingers with liquid myrrh, on the handles of the bolt. I opened to my beloved, but my beloved had turned and gone. My soul failed me when he spoke. I sought him, but found him not; I called him, but he gave no answer. The watchmen found me as they went about the city; they beat me, they bruised me, they took away my veil, those watchmen of the walls. I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, if you find my beloved, that you tell him I am sick with love.

OTHERS

What is your beloved more than another beloved, O most beautiful among women? What is your beloved more than another beloved, that you adjure us?

     What I found: I found a masterful portrait of myself in this; there’s a date written by it in my Bible. I’m sure you’ve been there, too, so let’s take a closer look into ourselves, the what and the why. This part of the book is one of the deepest to me. The first sentence sets the tone– that even in weariness, our hearts long for God. No matter where we are or what’s happening to us, even if we don’t realize it, our desire for Him is so deep. We need Him, and not only because He sustains us physically, but He fulfills us emotionally. I heard once that immaturity says “I love you because I need you,” while maturity says “I need you because I love you.” I think that our side of a relationship with God usually starts with the former statement. We commit our lives to Him and try to love Him because we know we need Him. However, when the relationship begins to mature and grow, we realize that we’ve truly fallen in love with Him, and that creates an even greater need inside us. There is such depth to this part of the book, this is only the beginning! Has God ever suddenly awakened you to Himself? Where you realize right then, after such a long time, something He’s been telling you? In the case of the girl in our passage, He woke her up to tell her that she shut Him out and left Him out in the rain. And He spoke words of love over her even in this! God does that! No matter what He says, it always comes with an “I love you.” Okay– we know she loves Him and was eager for Him. So, why didn’t she let Him in? Didn’t she just open up to Him in the passage right before this one? What changed? Little do we know that she hesitated for the same reason we do: she thought she had to be perfect for Him. She forgot that His love is pure, not based on what she does. She became so consumed with keeping His love that she forgot to revel in it. Are you there? I have been there many times, and when I’m honest with myself I know I will be again. The good news: He will always knock on my door and speak truth over me. I have to be sure, in those moments, not to do what she did in her first response: she left her part for Him to do. It’s crazy when you think about it! God does so much, even more than the human race can see all together, so when He asks us to do something, it is so little. BUT, it is still the job He entrusted to us, and important. He just wants you to open the door to Him, to let Him in. He’s ready, but will only do what you let Him. Still: while you may choose not to let Him in sometimes, you will never, EVER lose Him. Never. When you think He’s gone, He’s not. Don’t look for Him in the world; look for Him right where you are, because that’s where you’ll find Him. Open the door despite all fear, let Him inside you. Ignore all voices but His. Don’t let them tell you that He isn’t worth it. Don’t listen to the doubts when you know in your heart what is true. God is there, knocking at your door, because He wants you.

     What did you find in our passage today? About yourself? About God?

Any thoughts?

