Give It All Away

Standard

Song of Songs 4:16 & 5:1–

SHE

Let my beloved come to his garden, and eat its choicest fruits.

HE

I came to my garden, my sister, my bride, I gathered my myrrh with my spice, I ate my honeycomb with my honey, I drank my wine with my milk.

OTHERS

Eat, friends, drink, and be drunk with love!

What I found: In our last post, we heard His request for us to open up to Him, to share everything inside us with Him. Now we get to see what happens when we do, and how to do it! This calls for a little dissection. First, did you notice that she called it HIS garden? We know it is hers, because He is asking her for permission to enter, but she loves Him so much that it is now His. She gives it completely to Him. That is incredible, and expresses a deep truth! If you let Jesus into your heart and your life, you’re no longer living for yourself. He gives you a new reason to live, and your life becomes His! At the same time, He doesn’t lord it over us. You can see the sweetness and love in everything He does with what you give Him. He takes care of what is His, and YOU, my dear, are His! You can also see how much He purely enjoys being deep inside you; He revels in it and loves every bit of it! He uses what you have for its intended purpose, perfectly carrying it out while declaring His love for you! Secondly, she intentionally offers Him the best she has. Have you ever given God your leftovers– the last 2 minutes of your day before you fall asleep, the things you didn’t care about anyway, the area of your life pretty under control? I know you have, because so have I. We all do it. It’s easy to give up what you don’t want in the first place, but what about the things you really care for? The things that really affect you? Those are the things God wants from you, not your leftovers. We prove our love to God by what we’re willing to say isn’t worth as much to us. That doesn’t mean He’s going to strip us of everything we have; He just wants us to be willing to give whatever He asks us to, no reservations. Everything is a gift when you’ve given it away and God gives it back to you! Lastly, when you give yourself completely to God, people notice. Even if they don’t know Him, they see the difference in you. They secretly admire you, and sometimes they themselves don’t realize it. There’s just something special about someone who gives everything to God; maybe because He fills you back up with what He has.

That’s what I found today! What about you? What does this mean to you today?

Any thoughts?

