More Than Skin Deep

Standard

Song of Songs 4:9-16–

[continuing with HE]

You have captivated my heart, my sister, my bride; you have captivated my heart with one glance of your eyes, with one jewel of your necklace. How beautiful is your love, my sister, my bride! How much better is your love than wine, and the fragrance of your oils than any spice! Your lips drip nectar, my bride; honey and milk are under your tongue; the fragrance of your garments is like the fragrance of Lebanon. A garden locked is my sister, my bride, a spring locked, a fountain sealed. Your shoots are an orchard of pomegranates with all choicest fruits, henna with nard, nard and saffron, calamus and cinnamon, with all trees of frankincense, myrrh and aloes, with all choice spices— a garden fountain, a well of living water, and flowing streams from Lebanon. Awake, O north wind, and come, O south wind! Blow upon my garden, let its spices flow.

     What I found: She captivates Him; her love is better than a multitude of riches to Him. Can I just say that THIS IS AMAZING?! Why would a perfect God be captivated by such an imperfect person like me? He could do so much better! He could find someone else easily, a better listener, easier to love, who would treat Him better than I do. Yet, He loves ME. He is captivated by ME. He has always loved ME, from the moment He saw me. He values MY love higher than anything else, even though it is imperfect. He has the power to get anything He wants, and He wants ME. And, even in this stong desire, He doesn’t force me to love Him. He wants my honest and genuine love. How can I NOT give it to Him, knowing all this?! If a man had this love for me, wouldn’t I be living a fairytale with prince charming? Jesus offers a life like your dreams. He doesn’t only have this love for me, but for you. And because He is God, that works; He can have complete devotion to every single person on earth, and it will be personal, as if it was just the two of you. Can we give Him our love? Can we share our lives with Him in a deep and beautiful relationship? He wants you to open up the parts of yourself that you hide. He wants access to your heart, so He can enjoy all the beauty inside you, but you have to give Him the key. He is not intrusive; He is a gentleman and will only take what you give Him. Will you give Him your heart?

     I commit to loving you today and for the rest of my existence. No matter what, I will always love you, Jesus. I promise! When things are right with my world, I will sing with and to you, knowing you are the reason. And when things are terribly wrong around me, I’ll sing still, because YOU are my joy, and you won’t stop singing. I choose to believe in your love because I know that your promises are true. Even when I can’t feel you, I know that you are with me, because you love me too much to leave me alone. You DIED for me so you could be with me, and I will never be able to thank you enough. I will give you my life every day because I stole yours, and we will share each other’s hearts. You have fully convinced me that I have yours, and I confess now that you have mine. I love you, Jesus. Thank you for loving me.

What did you find in our Scripture today? Next week, we get to take a look at what happens when you let Him inside!

Any thoughts?

