My Born-Again Birthday!

Standard

Song of Songs 3:6-11–

[continuing with SHE]

What is that coming up from the wilderness like columns of smoke, perfumed with myrrh and frankincense, with all the fragrant powders of a merchant? Behold, it is the litter of Solomon! Around it are sixty mighty men, some of the mighty men of Israel, all of them wearing swords and expert in war, each with his sword at his thigh, against terror by night. King Solomon made himself a carriage from the wood of Lebanon. He made its posts of silver, its back of gold, its seat of purple; its interior was inlaid with love by the daughters of Jerusalem. Go out, O daughters of Zion, and look upon King Solomon, with the crown with which his mother crowned him on the day of his wedding, on the day of the gladness of his heart.

     Two years ago yesterday, I committed my life to Jesus. For the first time, I felt and was completely sure of His unconditional love for me. He even performed miracles out of His love to celebrate my new birth! My born-again birthday is so special, and should be a huge part of my every day life. When I’m having a hard time, I can look back on February 5, 2010, and it gives me hope. The Bible has similar situations; when something deeply influential happened to the Israelites, they would erect pillars or monuments or SOMETHING so they could go back to that reminder. God knows we tend to forget, so He gives us things worth remembering! It is our job to celebrate those things. What could be more memorable than being reborn with God’s DNA, changed and made beautiful and new?!

In honor of being reborn as God’s child, yesterday I threw myself a party of two(me and Jesus, of course)! I wore a dress and my Generation Unleashed 2010 wristband(which did NOT go to together, but who cares?), read the Bible, listened to my Generation Unleashed worship cds, read journals entries from February 5, AND drew a picture of me and Jesus(not my best, but I’m still in love with it!). It was joyful and sweet, reminiscient of two years ago. To give you a taste of  it, here is Psalm 66, dubbed “my” psalm because I read it that first night and it completely mirrored the day. I want to encourage you to celebrate your turning-points, too! It will strengthen you, fill you with hope, and increase your affection for Jesus!

Psalm 66– Shout for joy to God, all the earth! Sing the glory of his name; make his praise glorious. Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds! So great is your power that your enemies cringe before you. All the earth bows down to you; they sing praise to you, they sing the praises of your name.”Come and see what God has done, his awesome deeds for mankind! He turned the sea into dry land, they passed through the waters on foot— come, let us rejoice in him. He rules forever by his power, his eyes watch the nations— let not the rebellious rise up against him.Praise our God, all peoples, let the sound of his praise be heard; he has preserved our lives and kept our feet from slipping. For you, God, tested us; you refined us like silver. You brought us into prison and laid burdens on our backs. You let people ride over our heads; we went through fire and water, but you brought us to a place of abundance. I will come to your temple with burnt offerings and fulfill my vows to you— vows my lips promised and my mouth spoke when I was in trouble. I will sacrifice fat animals to you and an offering of rams; I will offer bulls and goats. Come and hear, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me. I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and has heard my prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me!

What has all this to do with today’s passage? Celebration, that we are finally together. And it tells me that (Solomon representing Jesus) He’s even more excited about it than I am, that it was priceless to Him, the day of the gladness of his heart! What does that mean to you today? Do you celebrate your born-again birthday? How?

By the way, if you want to hear all the details of my story, just click on the conviently-labeled tab above!

Any thoughts?

