Are You Ready For Love?

Standard

Song of Songs 3:1-5–

[continuing with SHE]

On my bed by night I sought him whom my soul loves; I sought him, but found him not. I will rise now and go about the city, in the streets and in the squares; I will seek him whom my soul loves. I sought him, but found him not. The watchmen found me as they went about in the city.
“Have you seen him whom my soul loves?” Scarcely had I passed them when I found him whom my soul loves. I held him, and would not let him go until I had brought him into my mother’s house, and into the chamber of her who conceived me. I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, by the gazelles or the does of the field, that you not stir up or awaken love until it pleases.

What I found: She had such a longing for Him, but could never find Him. Finally, when she left her comfort to search for Him, and when she was open and honest and transparent about her search, putting herself in danger for Him, she found Him! She didn’t even stop holding Him close until she took Him with her to her most special place. I can see myself here. I remember when I knew something was missing, but didn’t know what. I dreamed and dreamed until I couldn’t do anything but go out and look for it! My missing piece was Him. Do you know that He’s yours, too? I saw deep truth about searching for Him behind this passage. We grow up being told that when you are comfortable and happy, you fulfill the purpose of your life, but in reality the exact opposite is true! Love is perfect and everything we need, but it’s not easy. Is there something God might be asking you to do for Him, in your heart or physically, that makes you uncomfortable or afraid? I encourage you to do it! Make sure it really is Him speaking, and do it. Wouldn’t you put yourself in danger for the one you love? Risk something for Him because He’s worth more to you? Why wouldn’t you bear a little discomfort for Him, then? The lyrics to “Are You Ready For Love” by Audio Adrenaline explain perfectly: Are you ready for love?/ Are you ready for real emotion?/ Are you too comfortable to join the revolution?/ This love is revolutionary when it’s inside of you/ It’s just so simple/ I never realized it, I never had a clue/ I fall down, I fall down to my knees/ I fall down and weep/ with joy/. What do you hear Him saying? Are you willing to respond? Be honest about what rules your heart– Him or another. Be open in admitting you desperately need Him and reject what is not for Him inside you. Pursue Him, and you will find Him, He promises that. When you do, the experience is unlike any other. You’ll weep for joy like Audio Adrenaline and hold Him as close as you can like the girl in the Scripture! I’m not just saying this for those who don’t know Him; those of us that already do still need these things, because we make mistakes. We ignore Him and we forget how important He is to us. That’s when His love comes in! The girl in the passage tells us that this love is so special, and one of the most amazing parts is that she didn’t know love until she knew Him. After all, God is Love! She did not stir up or awaken love until it pleased, which means that this is part of God’s plan! He knows we’ll mess up, He knows what we’ll do to Him, but He knew this from the beginning! He took the risk! Jesus is ready for love. He always has been. Are you?

What do you see in our Scripture today?

Any thoughts?

