Spring is Coming

Standard

Song of Songs 2:8-17–

[continuing with SHE]

The voice of my beloved! Behold, he comes, leaping over the mountains, bounding over the hills. My beloved is like a gazelle or a young stag. Behold, there he stands behind our wall, gazing through the windows, looking through the lattice. My beloved speaks and says to me: “Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away, for behold, the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtle dove is heard in our land. The fig tree ripens its figs, and the vines are in blossom; they give forth fragrance. Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away. O my dove, in the clefts of the rock, in the crannies of the cliff, let me see your face, let me hear your voice, for your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely. Catch the foxes for us, the little foxes that spoil the vineyards, for our vineyards are in blossom.” My beloved is mine, and I am his; he grazes among the lilies. Until the day breathes and the shadows flee, turn, my beloved, be like a gazelle or a young stag on cleft mountains.

     What I found: The sound of Him approaching is so exciting! When He arrives, He tells her that He wants her to come with Him, because now is the time for growth, beauty, and love. The sadness is over, and the joy has begun! This happens to us, too, doesn’t it? I’m emerging from my “winter” right now; you might remember me referring to it as my war inside. It’s been a difficult season that often felt like Jesus wasn’t in it, and I cried a lot, which is hard for me to do. It was just HARD to go on everyday, and the worst thing about it was that I didn’t know why. Why was I sad so often, feeling deprived of joy? Why did Jesus feel so far away? Honestly, I don’t know why. You probably expect me to say I had some striking revelation, but I didn’t. Jesus just gave me peace and hope. He let me know that no matter what I feel, He is faithful and His promises are sure. He never, EVER, left me, He promises that! I’m simply beginning to see Him again, so it seems like He’s coming back. But He never left. Never. Now this passage of Scripture is even more alive to me, that the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. Spring has come, and the time for joy is here! (See Isaiah 49, emphasis on verse 18.) We also see that He wants to see her and talk with her, because she is so lovely. He doesn’t want anything about their relationship to be spoiled, and she needs to have her hand in fulfilling this desire. Did you notice the part that said catch the foxes for us? My youth pastor spoke on this passage, and I love what he shared! He said that like foxes ruin vineyards, we have things that seek to ruin our relationships. What foxes are destroying your vineyard– what is sneaking in that hinders you in going deeper with Jesus? For me, it’s daydreams. I had an imaginary husband in middle school; his name was Peter Parker, and yes, he looked like Tobey Maguire as Spiderman! I’ve stopped running to him, I know he’s not what I need, but… it’s still easy to imagine him when I dream about the future, as my dream is marrying and starting a family. Jesus has recently asked me (at least I’ve recently heard; He could have asked me years ago!) to completely give Peter up. I know, this whole thing is silly, but I really do have a very unhealthy attachment to him, and it’s keeping me from moving forward! Jesus is helping me everyday to avoid this temptation, filling me with Himself instead of Peter. That fox will NOT destroy this vineyard! I found an awesome verse about God and the vineyard He keeps, which I think applies here: A pleasant vineyard, sing of it! I, the LORD, am its keeper; every moment I water it. Lest anyone punish it, I keep it night and day; I have no wrath. Would that I had thorns and briers to battle! I would march against them, I would burn them up together. Or let them lay hold of my protection, let them make peace with me, let them make peace with me. Lastly, we see that she doesn’t want Him to ever leave or change. And as we found previously– He won’t and can’t.

That’s what I found today! What about you?

Any thoughts?

