Lost Without You

Standard

Song of Songs 1:1-7–

SHE

Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth! For your love is better than wine; your anointing oils are fragrant; your name is oil poured out; therefore virgins love you. Draw me after you; let us run. The king has brought me into his chambers.

OTHERS

We will exult and rejoice in you; we will extol your love more than wine; rightly do they love you.

SHE

I am very dark, but lovely, O daughters of Jerusalem, like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon. Do not gaze at me because I am dark, because the sun has looked upon me. My mother’s sons were angry with me; they made me keeper of the vineyards, but my own vineyard I have not kept! Tell me, you whom my soul loves, where you pasture your flock, where you make it lie down at noon; for why should I be like one who veils herself beside the flocks of your companions?

What I found: Firstly, we learn about Him. He is very much desirable and held in high esteem. Just the sound of His name is love-triggering. He is someone to rejoice in to both His lover and His friends. I agree! We also learn about her (really, US!). She has known pain, but she is still beautiful. She has neglected herself because she was working for others. Still, she longs to meet her Lover so she can unmask herself to Him. This definitely sounds like who I used to be! As we go further into this study, I think we’ll see a lot of our testimonies in her story. You were probably like this, too– trying to earn love. In today’s passage she’s found that it doesn’t work that way, and begins to see that He is what she really needs. Her eyes are being opened to see that He is the one she loves with all her heart. I had that moment, too, when I was thirteen and genuinely worshipped Him for the first time to the song “Wonder” by Chris Rice. Have you had this realization? If not, get to know Him better, and you will. It’s like the first few verses say: Your love is better than wine; your anointing oils are fragrant; your name is oil poured out; therefore virgins love you. To know Him is to love Him!

This is what I observed from our Scripture today. What did you find?

Any thoughts?

