Of Nobility

Standard

Synonyms for noble, according to my pocket thesaurus: worthy, generous, magnanimous(…what?), courtly, chivalrous, grand, good. Is that a description of what you’re thinking about? Is it worthy to be in your mind, the mind of the body the Holy Spirit chose to reside? Does it deserve to be thought? Has it done anything to earn your attention?

In biology class, I learned that we think dreams are a combination of the reserves in your memory. The theory is that even if you can’t remember something, it’s still safely tucked into your brain somewhere. You brain is always working, when you’re sleeping and when you’re awake, and dreams are some of the activity it goes through at night. That unsettles me sometimes, like last night when I had a terrible dream. It was disgusting and doesn’t deserve my thoughts or my time, but somehow that gross stuff is IN MY BRAIN?! I can’t escape my own mind, but I can monitor it and ask God to change it. I can continue thinking about the junk, or I can choose to think about something else. Test your thoughts, like a guard at a noble’s palace: “Should I allow you in? Are you worthy to enter, or will you defile the nobility?” Think about the safety of your mind’s purity like you were protecting something valuable, because YOU ARE.

Looking through the Bible, I found something on nobility: “The Wife of Noble Character.” I love this part of Scripture(actually, I love all of it…), because I know God’s calling me to wife-and-motherhood. He’s given girls a special example to follow, a guide in Proverbs 31:10-31; wasn’t that wonderful of Him?! It says that a wife of noble character is worth far more than rubies, the rarest gemstone! It says that her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. To me, that says a lot. This woman is so trustworthy and virtuous that her husband has no doubts about her. Because he has her, he has something of value. I’ll be seventeen in less than two weeks, but even now I try every day to form the habits of a good wife and mother. It’s never too early or too late to change. If you want to bring your husband good every day, even if you don’t know him yet like in my case, pray for him! My youth pastor’s wife, before she knew him, prayed for her husband. One specific thing she prayed was that he would have a passion for the Bible, and now he studies Hebrew to better understand it, and is a youth pastor/worship leader! God wants your requests and takes them to heart! Proverbs 31 also speaks much of the things the wife of noble character does to provide good things for her family, that she’s eager to do it. It says that she opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy. I like that it mentions that her husband is respected, because who you’re married to is PART of YOU! They are no longer two, but one, Jesus said. Proverbs 31 also says that she is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tongue. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:”Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Make who you are apparent; wear yourself like your favorite sweater. Find humor in life and don’t worry so much. Share what God shares with you. Be active in the lives of the people you love. Be a revolution. Give people no reason to call you anything but blessed. Make your love for Jesus what’s attractive about you. That’s what makes you noble! Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Any thoughts?

