If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking…

Standard

     My first visit to the ocean since Rachel prayed for me was on August 10, 2011. I wasn’t sure what to expect, and I was a little fearful that I would disappoint myself if nothing happened. I then remembered that God doesn’t make mistakes, and tried to trust Him as I set out bare-foot on the sand. One of the first things I saw on the beach was a cross someone had shaped from rocks. It was kind of like Jesus saying, “I’m here!”, and I didn’t really realize that until later. I continued to leisurely walk on the shore, and with almost every little happening came an analogy of God’s grace. Imagine right now that Jesus is the water:

  • The ripples in the wet sand were painful to walk on in bare feet unless the ocean was over them. In the deeper “valleys” of the ripples, the water could go deeper. 
  • When I began to walk out of the water up to my knees that I’d been standing in, it followed me.
  • Sometimes it looked like I couldn’t walk in the water on my straight path anymore (I had to keep up with my grandparents, mom, and brother, who were on the beach with me). BUT, after I stopped looking at my feet, the entire, never-ending ocean was right next to me! Even the tiniest streams led to the ocean.
  • I walked away from the ocean to a place in the sand that looked wet, but it was so shallow that I couldn’t even feel it. I have no clue what happened! It just looked wet from a distance, and the spot even smelled like gross, sun-rotting seaweed. I soon ran back to the ocean and jumped in the waves.

     I don’t know if all of this makes sense to you, but God used it to touch me. I’m so hungry for Him and have lately been praying for Him to show me how to go deeper in our relationship; I think He gave me some tidbits at the ocean. I can’t wait to go back!

Any thoughts?

